Skip to content
Español

Card processing review

Authorize.net

Authorize.net, Visa's online payment gateway. The All-in-one plan includes a merchant account at $25 a month plus 2.9% + 30¢ per online or keyed-in transaction (it publishes no in-person rate); the Gateway only plan ($25 a month plus 10¢ per transaction) connects to a merchant account you already have. Listed with the same template, not scored.

By Authorize.net (Visa)Parent company: Visa Inc. (NYSE: V)
Listed, not scored

Our verdict

A fit if most of your card sales are online or by phone and you want published, simple pricing; for in-person service, a processor that works with your restaurant POS usually fits better.

What we like

  • Publishes its fee table: $25 a month and, on the All-in-one plan, 2.9% + 30¢ per online or keyed-in transaction; its pricing page lists no setup, PCI, statement or batch fee.
  • The gateway is month-to-month with no early termination fee, and its agreement gives prior notice of fee changes.
  • 24/7 support by phone, chat or support case (closed on major holidays).
  • The Gateway only plan lets you keep a merchant account you already have.

What to watch

  • Built for online and phone payments: it publishes no in-person rate, and in person it relies on a mobile app or a Windows Virtual Point of Sale with a card reader, not a restaurant POS.
  • The flat 2.9% + 30¢ online applies to every card, debit included, and there's no dual pricing or surcharge program.
  • Deposits usually take 2 to 3 business days after the daily batch.
  • The All-in-one merchant account may have separate terms that aren't published before you sign up.

How the score breaks down

We don't score this type of product. It's listed with the same template so you can check its pricing, contract and data with sources; the methodology explains why. How we score

All the data, with sources

Each value links to its source. "Not published" means the vendor doesn't disclose it; "Unconfirmed" means we looked and couldn't confirm it. Data points we have for fewer than four vendors are left out until we can compare them.

Type of processor and pricing
Data pointValue
Type of processorOnline payment gatewaySource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)
Pricing modelFlat rateSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)All-in-one plan: a flat rate with a merchant account included. The Gateway only plan connects the gateway to a merchant account you already have, whose provider sets your card rates.
Published pricing (points out of 100)75Source: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)Counted (same rubric for every vendor): online and keyed rate 15, monthly fee 20, early termination fee stated as none for the gateway 20, full fee table 20; in-person rate 0 (its table lists in-person payments as "N/A (gateway only)"). The All-in-one merchant account may have separate terms shown at signup.
Card rates
Data pointValue
In-person rateUnconfirmedSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)Not published. Its pricing table lists in-person transactions as "N/A (gateway only)". You can take cards in person with its mobile app, Tap to Pay or Virtual Point of Sale and a card reader, where "standard Authorize.net and transaction fees apply", but no in-person rate is published, so we don't apply the online rate to them.
In-person fee per transactionUnconfirmedSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)Not published. Its pricing table lists in-person transactions as "N/A (gateway only)". You can take cards in person with its mobile app, Tap to Pay or Virtual Point of Sale and a card reader, where "standard Authorize.net and transaction fees apply", but no in-person rate is published, so we don't apply the online rate to them.
Online rate2.9%Source: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)All-in-one plan, subject to eligibility. With the Gateway only plan your merchant account provider sets this rate.
Online fee per transaction30¢Source: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)All-in-one plan, subject to eligibility. With the Gateway only plan your merchant account provider sets this rate.
Keyed-in rate2.9%Source: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)All-in-one plan, subject to eligibility. With the Gateway only plan your merchant account provider sets this rate.
Keyed-in fee per transaction30¢Source: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)All-in-one plan, subject to eligibility. With the Gateway only plan your merchant account provider sets this rate.
American Express pricingSame rate as other cardsSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)The All-in-one online and keyed-in rate is the same for every card brand it accepts, American Express included.
American Express rateN/ASource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)American Express costs the same as other cards.
Rates by monthly volumeN/ASource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)One published rate for every volume; it publishes no volume tiers.
Monthly and other fees
Data pointValue
Monthly account or plan fee$25/moSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)$25 a month on every plan (All-in-one, Gateway only and Gateway + eCheck).
Annual fee per account$0/yrSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)Not on its fee list for the All-in-one plan, which says there are no additional fees. If you bring your own merchant account (Gateway only), that provider's fees apply apart.
Annual fees per device or location$0/yr per deviceSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)Not on its fee list for the All-in-one plan, which says there are no additional fees. If you bring your own merchant account (Gateway only), that provider's fees apply apart.
PCI compliance fee (yearly)$0/yrSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)Not on its fee list for the All-in-one plan, which says there are no additional fees. If you bring your own merchant account (Gateway only), that provider's fees apply apart.
PCI non-compliance fee (monthly)$0/moSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)Not on its fee list for the All-in-one plan, which says there are no additional fees. If you bring your own merchant account (Gateway only), that provider's fees apply apart.
Statement fee$0/moSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)Not on its fee list for the All-in-one plan, which says there are no additional fees. If you bring your own merchant account (Gateway only), that provider's fees apply apart.
Monthly minimum$0/moSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)Its fee table lists the credit card monthly minimum at $0.00.
Fee per batch$0Source: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)All-in-one plan: no batch fee. Gateway only plan: 10¢ per daily batch.
Chargeback fee$0Source: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)The gateway charges $0 per chargeback. With your own merchant account (Gateway only), that provider may charge its own fee.
Other feesGateway only plan (you bring a merchant account from another provider, whose rates and fees are apart): $25 a month, 10¢ per transaction and 10¢ per daily batch. eCheck: 0.75% per payment with a $10 monthly minimum. Account Updater: 25¢ per update. Returned payment $25 and late payment $20 when Authorize.net can't collect its own fees. No setup fee.Source: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)
Equipment
Data pointValue
How you get the equipmentYou buy itSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)You buy a supported card reader for its Virtual Point of Sale or mobile app; Tap to Pay on iPhone needs no reader.
Price of a countertop terminalUnconfirmedSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)Its site links to buying a card reader but doesn't publish a price.
Equipment lease you can't cancelUnconfirmedSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)Its site offers no equipment lease; we didn't find lease terms.
Equipment lease termUnconfirmedSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)Its site offers no equipment lease; we didn't find lease terms.
Equipment at $0 upfront: what it commits you toUnconfirmedSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)We found no $0-upfront equipment offer.
Equipment only works with this processorUnconfirmedSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)Not stated on its site.
Getting your money
Data pointValue
Standard deposit speedMore than two business daysSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)Usually 2 to 3 business days after the daily batch settles; your merchant account provider handles the deposit, and some offer next-day funding.
Instant payout feeUnconfirmedSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)We found no instant payout option on its pricing page.
Holds and reservesUnconfirmedSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)Not in its published pricing or FAQ; holds and reserves depend on the merchant account's terms.
Contract and exit
Data pointValue
Contract termMonth to monthSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)Month-to-month for the gateway. If you sign up for the All-in-one plan, its merchant account may have its own terms, shown at signup.
Automatic renewalMonth to monthSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)Monthly subscription with no renewal term.
Notice to avoid renewal0 daysSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)No notice needed to end the gateway subscription.
Notice to cancel0 daysSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)Written notice, with no minimum period, to end the gateway agreement; you stay responsible for the fees already incurred, with no prorated credit. The All-in-one merchant account may have its own terms, shown at signup.
Early termination feeNo early termination fee for the gateway; when you end it, you still owe the fees already incurred, with no prorated credit. If you signed up for the All-in-one plan, its merchant account may have separate terms that you review at signup, not published.Source: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)
How the early termination fee is calculatedNo early termination feeSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)No early termination fee for the gateway. The All-in-one merchant account may have separate terms, shown at signup.
Liquidated damages clauseNoSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)None for the gateway; the All-in-one merchant account terms aren't published.
Price increases during the contractWith notice, and you can leave without a feeSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)Gateway agreement: fee changes come with prior notice in the merchant interface (no minimum period stated), and you can end the agreement at any time with written notice and no early termination fee. The All-in-one merchant account may have separate terms, not published.
Right to raise pricesAuthorize.net can change the fees in its fee schedule at any time with prior notice in the merchant interface (no minimum period stated); you can end the gateway agreement at any time with written notice. The All-in-one merchant account may have separate terms, not published.Source: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)
Personal guarantee by the signerUnconfirmedSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)Its gateway agreement has no personal guarantee clause, but the All-in-one merchant account terms aren't published.
Dual pricing and surcharges
Data pointValue
Dual pricing or surcharge programNoSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)Authorize.net publishes no dual pricing, surcharge or cash discount program; its pricing page and FAQ don't mention one.
Cards the program coversN/ASource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)No program.
Monthly fee for the programN/ASource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)No program.
Your POS and your business
Data pointValue
Works with these restaurant POSOthersSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)Partner POS terminals and kiosks from its partner directory; none of the restaurant POS on our list documents it.
Requires the vendor's own POSNoSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)It has no POS of its own: it connects your website, app, virtual terminal or a partner's POS to a merchant account.
Monthly volume it's built forUnconfirmedSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)No minimum volume published.
Accepts high-risk businessesUnconfirmedSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)Approval of the merchant account depends on your industry and history; it doesn't say whether it takes high-risk businesses.
Routes debit to the lowest-cost networkUnconfirmedSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)Not stated on its site.
Support
Data pointValue
24/7 support for merchantsYesSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)24/7, closed on major holidays.
Support channelsPhone, Chat, Email or formSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)
Language
Data pointValue
Support in SpanishUnconfirmedSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)Authorize.net doesn't say it offers support in Spanish.
Merchant dashboard in SpanishUnconfirmedSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)Not stated on its site.
Contract or terms in SpanishNoSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)Its gateway agreement is published in English only; the All-in-one merchant account terms aren't published.
US website in SpanishNoSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)Its US site is in English only; we found no Spanish version.