Skip to content
Español

Card processing review

Durango Merchant Services

Durango Merchant Services, a registered ISO of Fifth Third Bank that specializes in high-risk accounts. Pricing and contract are by quote; on its site it publishes only typical ranges for rates, monthly fees and reserves (0% to 10%), and says month-to-month is available. Listed with the same template, not scored.

By Durango Merchant ServicesParent company: Durango Merchant Services, LLC (private)
Listed, not scored

Not enough verified data yet

We've verified 4 of 12 key facts for this processor. Until we reach 80%, this page shows what we have, with sources, and it isn't a full review.

Our verdict

For a restaurant or bar that standard processors turned down; get the rate, monthly fees, reserve, term and early termination fee in writing before you sign.

What we like

  • Publishes typical price and reserve ranges for its high-risk accounts, and charges no application fee.
  • Says contract lengths vary and month-to-month is available.
  • Dual pricing for online payments through its own gateway, covering every card type except EBT.

What to watch

  • Your actual rate, fees, term and early termination fee are only in the quote and the bank's agreement.
  • Reserves of up to 10% of sales are among its typical terms.
  • Support by phone and email on weekday business hours (Mountain time), no 24/7 line published.

How the score breaks down

We don't score this type of product. It's listed with the same template so you can check its pricing, contract and data with sources; the methodology explains why. How we score

Before you pass the card fee to your customers

This vendor offers a program that passes the card cost to your customers. Card network rules cap credit card surcharges (Visa 3%, Mastercard 4%) and never allow them on debit, and some states ban or limit them.

This is general information, not legal advice. Card network rules and state laws change, and how they apply depends on your business: check with a lawyer and with your processor before adding a surcharge or a cash discount.

See the rules by state

All the data, with sources

Each value links to its source. "Not published" means the vendor doesn't disclose it; "Unconfirmed" means we looked and couldn't confirm it. Data points we have for fewer than four vendors are left out until we can compare them.

Type of processor and pricing
Data pointValue
Type of processorHigh-risk specialistSource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)A registered ISO of Fifth Third Bank that specializes in high-risk merchant accounts, in the US and abroad.
Pricing modelQuote onlySource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)By quote, by business and transaction model.
Published pricing (points out of 100)0Source: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)Counted (same rubric for every vendor): it publishes only ranges (rates 1.95% to 4.95%, 15¢ to 25¢ per authorization, $15 to $60 a month), no rate, markup, monthly fee or early termination fee of its own, and of the other fees only that it charges no application fee (0).
Card rates
Data pointValue
In-person rateQuote onlySource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)By quote. Its high-risk page lists discount rates of 1.95% to 4.95% as the typical range.
In-person fee per transactionQuote onlySource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)By quote. Its high-risk page lists authorization fees of 15¢ to 25¢ as the typical range.
Online rateQuote onlySource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)By quote. Its high-risk page lists discount rates of 1.95% to 4.95% as the typical range.
Online fee per transactionQuote onlySource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)By quote. Its high-risk page lists authorization fees of 15¢ to 25¢ as the typical range.
Keyed-in rateQuote onlySource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)By quote. Its high-risk page lists discount rates of 1.95% to 4.95% as the typical range.
Keyed-in fee per transactionQuote onlySource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)By quote. Its high-risk page lists authorization fees of 15¢ to 25¢ as the typical range.
American Express pricingQuote onlySource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)Not published: it's in your quote and the bank's merchant agreement.
American Express rateQuote onlySource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)Not published: it's in your quote and the bank's merchant agreement.
Rates by monthly volumeQuote onlySource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)Not published: it's in your quote and the bank's merchant agreement.
Monthly and other fees
Data pointValue
Monthly account or plan feeQuote onlySource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)By quote. Its high-risk page lists monthly fees of $15 to $60 as the typical range.
Annual fee per accountQuote onlySource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)Not published: it's in your quote and the bank's merchant agreement.
Annual fees per device or locationQuote onlySource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)Not published: it's in your quote and the bank's merchant agreement.
PCI compliance fee (yearly)Quote onlySource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)Not published: it's in your quote and the bank's merchant agreement.
PCI non-compliance fee (monthly)Quote onlySource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)Not published: it's in your quote and the bank's merchant agreement.
Statement feeQuote onlySource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)Not published: it's in your quote and the bank's merchant agreement.
Monthly minimumQuote onlySource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)Not published: it's in your quote and the bank's merchant agreement.
Fee per batchQuote onlySource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)Not published: it's in your quote and the bank's merchant agreement.
Chargeback feeQuote onlySource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)Not published: it's in your quote and the bank's merchant agreement.
Other feesNo application fee. Every other fee is in your quote.Source: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)
Equipment
Data pointValue
How you get the equipmentUnconfirmedSource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)Its site doesn't publish how you get equipment or on what terms.
Price of a countertop terminalQuote onlySource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)Not published.
Equipment lease you can't cancelUnconfirmedSource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)Its site doesn't publish how you get equipment or on what terms.
Equipment lease termUnconfirmedSource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)Its site doesn't publish how you get equipment or on what terms.
Equipment at $0 upfront: what it commits you toUnconfirmedSource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)Its site doesn't publish how you get equipment or on what terms.
Equipment only works with this processorUnconfirmedSource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)Its site doesn't publish how you get equipment or on what terms.
Getting your money
Data pointValue
Standard deposit speedQuote onlySource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)Not published for its accounts; its guide says high-risk accounts may wait two or three business days instead of next-day funding.
Instant payout feeUnconfirmedSource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)We found no instant payout option on its site.
Holds and reservesRolling reserves of 0% to 10% are among the typical terms it lists. Its guide says most high-risk agreements hold back 5% to 10% of daily sales for 90 to 180 days, and that it discloses reserve terms in advance.Source: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)
Contract and exit
Data pointValue
Contract termQuote onlySource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)Varies by account; it says month-to-month is available.
Automatic renewalQuote onlySource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)Not published: it's in your quote and the bank's merchant agreement.
Notice to avoid renewalQuote onlySource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)Not published: it's in your quote and the bank's merchant agreement.
Notice to cancelQuote onlySource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)Not published: it's in your quote and the bank's merchant agreement.
Early termination feeQuote onlySource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)Not published; it's in the bank's merchant agreement. Ask for the exact exit cost in writing before signing.
How the early termination fee is calculatedQuote onlySource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)Not published. It says contract lengths vary and month-to-month is available; any early termination fee is in the bank's merchant agreement.
Liquidated damages clauseUnconfirmedSource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)The bank's merchant agreement isn't published.
Price increases during the contractUnconfirmedSource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)The bank's merchant agreement isn't published.
Right to raise pricesUnconfirmedSource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)The bank's merchant agreement isn't published.
Personal guarantee by the signerUnconfirmedSource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)The bank's merchant agreement isn't published.
Dual pricing and surcharges
Data pointValue
Dual pricing or surcharge programYesSource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)Dual pricing for online payments through its Durango Pay Gateway: a card price and a lower price for cash-equivalent payments such as bank transfers. It doesn't publish the program for in-person payments. Card network rules and state laws apply.
Cards the program coversEvery card, debit and credit (dual pricing or cash discount)Source: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)Every card type except EBT, debit included: all cards carry the same card price. Only for online payments through its gateway.
Monthly fee for the programUnconfirmedSource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)Not published.
Your POS and your business
Data pointValue
Works with these restaurant POSUnconfirmedSource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)It says it can often integrate with your existing systems but names no restaurant POS.
Requires the vendor's own POSNoSource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)
Monthly volume it's built forUnconfirmedSource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)Its typical terms list a "$5,000 minimum" of processing for US accounts without saying per what period.
Accepts high-risk businessesYesSource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)
Routes debit to the lowest-cost networkUnconfirmedSource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)Not stated on its site.
Support
Data pointValue
24/7 support for merchantsNoSource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)Phone hours Monday to Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Mountain time; no 24/7 line published.
Support channelsPhone, Email or formSource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)Phone and email, with a dedicated account manager.
Language
Data pointValue
Support in SpanishUnconfirmedSource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)Durango doesn't say it offers support in Spanish.
Merchant dashboard in SpanishUnconfirmedSource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)Not stated.
Contract or terms in SpanishUnconfirmedSource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)The bank's merchant agreement isn't published.
US website in SpanishNoSource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)Its US site is in English only; we found no Spanish version.

More about Durango Merchant Services

How we score