We know whether 33 of 33 processors offer a dual pricing, cash discount or surcharge program. "Not published" counts as data.
A surcharge adds a fee when a customer pays with a credit card. Dual pricing shows two prices, one for cash and one for cards. A cash discount lowers the price for customers who pay cash. In all three your customers pay the card cost instead of your restaurant, but the rules aren't the same: card networks cap credit card surcharges and never allow them on debit, and some states ban or limit surcharges while still allowing cash discounts.
Below are the card network rules, the state laws we've read in the statute itself, and which processors offer a program. States we haven't reviewed say so: that doesn't mean they have no law. This is general information, not legal advice.
Not legal advice
This is general information, not legal advice. Card network rules and state laws change, and how they apply depends on your business: check with a lawyer and with your processor before adding a surcharge or a cash discount.
Rules version 2026-10-02, checked Oct 2, 2026. We'll read these rules again by Nov 15, 2026.
Card network rules
They apply in every state, on top of state law.
- Visa: cap on a credit card surcharge: 3%3%, and never more than your cost
- Mastercard: cap on a credit card surcharge: 4%4%, or your average cost if it's lower
- Surcharge on debit: Not allowedVisa and Mastercard
State laws
Only the states whose law we've read in a primary source have a status. The rest say "not reviewed yet": that doesn't mean there's no law.
- Surcharges banned · 3Connecticut, Maine, and Massachusetts
- Allowed with limits · 4California, Colorado, Minnesota, and New York
- Allowed with conditions · 1Florida
- Not reviewed yet · 43
Card network rules
They apply in every state, on top of state law.
| Rule | Status | Cap on a credit card surcharge | Surcharge on debit | Cash discount | What it says |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Visa | Allowed with conditions | 3%, and never more than your cost | Not allowed | Not stated | Visa allows a surcharge on Visa credit cards only, up to 3% in the US and never more than what accepting the card costs you, subject to state law. Never on debit or prepaid cards. You must tell your acquirer in writing at least 30 days before, disclose the surcharge at the point of sale and show it on the receipt. A revised settlement between Visa, Mastercard and merchants got preliminary approval from a federal court in Brooklyn on June 9, 2026; if it gets final approval, it would add new rights (for example, surcharging by card type) and we'll update this rule. Visa Core Rules and Visa Product and Service Rules, 18 April 2026, §5.5.1.5 to §5.5.1.9 (opens in a new tab) · “In the US Region or a US Territory: The Credit Card Surcharge maximum amount is 3.00%.” |
| Mastercard | Allowed with conditions | 4%, or your average cost if it's lower | Not allowed | Not stated | Mastercard allows a surcharge on Mastercard credit cards only: the lesser of your average effective rate for Mastercard credit and 4%. Not on debit or prepaid cards. You must notify Mastercard and your acquirer at least 30 days before and disclose the surcharge at the point of sale and on the receipt. State law still applies. A revised settlement between Visa, Mastercard and merchants got preliminary approval from a federal court in Brooklyn on June 9, 2026; if it gets final approval, it would add new rights (for example, surcharging by card type) and we'll update this rule. Merchant surcharge rules (US), read through r.jina.ai (opens in a new tab) · “The Maximum Surcharge Cap - 4%.” |
State laws
Only the states whose law we've read in a primary source have a status. The rest say "not reviewed yet": that doesn't mean there's no law.
| Rule | Status | Cap on a credit card surcharge | Surcharge on debit | Cash discount | What it says |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| California | Allowed with limits | Not allowed | Not stated | Allowed | The Civil Code says a retailer may not add a surcharge for paying with a credit card, and allows cash discounts offered to all buyers. In 2018 a federal appeals court held the ban unconstitutional as applied to the five merchants that sued; it wasn't struck down for everyone. Ask a lawyer before adding a surcharge in California. Cal. Civ. Code § 1748.1 (opens in a new tab) · “No retailer in any sales, service, or lease transaction with a consumer may impose a surcharge on a cardholder who elects to use a credit card in lieu of payment by cash, check, or similar means.” |
| Colorado | Allowed with limits | 2%, or your actual processing cost | Not allowed | Not stated | A surcharge is allowed only on credit or charge cards, under one of two options: up to 2% of the total, or up to what you actually pay your processor for that sale. Either way you post a sign in the wording the law sets, show the surcharge on its own line of the receipt and add only one surcharge per sale. Never on cash, check, debit or gift cards. We read the 2024 compilation of the statute (the 2025 one wasn't online when we checked). C.R.S. § 5-2-212 (Colorado Revised Statutes 2024, Title 5) (opens in a new tab) · “An amount not to exceed two percent of the total cost to the buyer or lessee for the sales or lease transaction.” |
| Connecticut | Surcharges banned | Not allowed | Not allowed | Allowed | State law bans surcharges on any transaction. Discounts for paying with cash, check or debit are allowed if you post a notice (on your premises, before an online or app payment, and out loud on the phone). Conn. Gen. Stat. § 42-133ff (Chapter 739) (opens in a new tab) · “(b) No person may impose a surcharge on any transaction.” |
| Florida | Allowed with conditions | No cap stated | Not stated | Allowed | Florida's statutes still include a ban on credit card surcharges (§ 501.0117), but in 2015 a federal appeals court (Eleventh Circuit, Dana's Railroad Supply v. Attorney General) struck that section down as unconstitutional. Ask a lawyer before adding a surcharge in Florida. Cash discounts offered to all customers are allowed. Restaurants that add an operations charge, which includes a credit card surcharge, must show it on the menu, written contract and website or app where orders are placed, and on its own line of the receipt (§ 509.214). Fla. Stat. § 501.0117 (2026); see also § 509.214 and Dana's Railroad Supply v. Attorney General (11th Cir., Nov. 4, 2015, No. 14-14426) (opens in a new tab) · “A seller or lessor in a sales or lease transaction may not impose a surcharge on the buyer or lessee for electing to use a credit card in lieu of payment by cash, check, or similar means” |
| Maine | Surcharges banned | Not allowed | Not allowed | Allowed | State law bans surcharges for paying with a credit or debit card. A discount from the regular price isn't a surcharge. 9-A M.R.S. § 8-509 (opens in a new tab) · “A seller in a sales transaction may not impose a surcharge on a cardholder who elects to use a credit card or debit card in lieu of payment by cash, check or similar means.” |
| Massachusetts | Surcharges banned | Not allowed | Not stated | Allowed | State law bans surcharges for paying with a credit card. Card issuers can't stop you from offering a discount for paying with cash or check. M.G.L. c. 140D, § 28A (opens in a new tab) · “No seller in any sales transaction may impose a surcharge on a cardholder who elects to use a credit card in lieu of payment by cash, check or similar means.” |
| Minnesota | Allowed with limits | 5% | Not stated | Not stated | A credit card surcharge is allowed up to 5% of the price, if you tell the customer before the sale: out loud and with a posted sign in person, at checkout online, and out loud on the phone. Minn. Stat. § 325G.051 (opens in a new tab) · “the surcharge does not exceed five percent of the purchase price.” |
| New York | Allowed with limits | What the card company charges you | Not stated | Not stated | A credit card surcharge is allowed only if you clearly post the total price when paying by card, surcharge included, and it can't be more than what the card company charges you. N.Y. General Business Law § 518 (opens in a new tab) · “any such surcharge may not exceed the amount of the surcharge charged to the business by the credit card company” |
| Alabama | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| Alaska | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| Arizona | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| Arkansas | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| Delaware | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| District of Columbia | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| Georgia | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| Hawaii | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| Idaho | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| Illinois | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| Indiana | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| Iowa | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| Kansas | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| Kentucky | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| Louisiana | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| Maryland | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| Michigan | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| Mississippi | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| Missouri | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| Montana | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| Nebraska | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| Nevada | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| New Hampshire | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| New Jersey | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| New Mexico | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| North Carolina | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| North Dakota | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| Ohio | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| Oklahoma | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| Oregon | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| Pennsylvania | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| Rhode Island | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| South Carolina | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| South Dakota | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| Tennessee | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| Texas | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| Utah | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| Vermont | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| Virginia | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| Washington | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| West Virginia | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| Wisconsin | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
| Wyoming | Not reviewed yet | — | — | — | Not reviewed yet: we haven't read this state's law in a primary source. Check with a lawyer or your processor before adding a surcharge. Card network rules apply everywhere. — |
Processors with a program
Dual pricing and cash discount programs cover every card; a surcharge only covers credit cards. What your customers pay is the vendor's published rate when there is one.
| Processor | Dual pricing or surcharge program | Cards the program covers | What your customers pay |
|---|---|---|---|
| Adyen | YesSource: Adyen (opens in a new tab)A credit card surcharge you configure on its terminals. Adyen doesn't enforce card network caps or state laws for you. Card network rules and state laws apply. | Credit cards only (surcharge)Source: Adyen (opens in a new tab) | 3% |
| Authorize.net | NoSource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)Authorize.net publishes no dual pricing, surcharge or cash discount program; its pricing page and FAQ don't mention one. | N/ASource: Authorize.net (Visa) (opens in a new tab)No program. | No program published |
| Bank of America Merchant Services | NoSource: Bank of America (opens in a new tab)Bank of America publishes no dual pricing, surcharge or cash discount program; its POS feature comparison shows surcharging unsupported. | N/ASource: Bank of America (opens in a new tab)No program published. | No program published |
| Braintree | NoSource: PayPal (Braintree) (opens in a new tab)Braintree publishes no dual pricing, surcharge or cash discount program; its fee page and agreement don't mention one. | N/ASource: PayPal (Braintree) (opens in a new tab)No program. | No program published |
| CardConnect | YesSource: CardConnect (Fiserv) (opens in a new tab)CardPointe's surcharge program adds a percentage fee, paid by your customer, to eligible credit card payments; CardConnect doesn't publish the percentage. With it, card processing costs your restaurant $0 on credit cards in our estimate and your customers pay the difference; debit stays at CardConnect's rate. Card network rules and state laws apply. | Credit cards only (surcharge)Source: CardConnect (Fiserv) (opens in a new tab) | Not published |
| Chase Payment Solutions | NoSource: Chase (opens in a new tab)Chase's merchant pages and QuickAccept's fee schedule publish no dual pricing, surcharge or cash discount program. | N/ASource: Chase (opens in a new tab)No program published. | No program published |
| Clover | YesSource: Clover (Fiserv) (opens in a new tab)Clover documents credit card surcharging (credit cards only; Clover sets the rate, which it says is 3.00% for most US merchants, and it is not offered where state law restricts it) and a cash discount program in its help center. With the program, card processing costs your restaurant $0 in our estimate and your customers pay the difference. Clover doesn't say whether its cash discount or surcharge covers tips. Card network rules and state laws apply, and some states limit or ban surcharges. | Every card, debit and credit (dual pricing or cash discount)Source: Clover Help Center (opens in a new tab)Clover offers a cash discount, where every card pays the listed price, and a credit card surcharge, which never applies to debit. When a vendor publishes both, we use the program that covers every card, the same for every vendor. | Not published |
| Dharma Merchant Services | YesSource: Dharma Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)MX Advantage credit card surcharge, also on Clover since July 2025. Dharma lists Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and California as prohibiting it. Card network rules and state laws apply. | Credit cards only (surcharge)Source: Dharma Merchant Services (opens in a new tab) | 3% |
| Durango Merchant Services | YesSource: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)Dual pricing for online payments through its Durango Pay Gateway: a card price and a lower price for cash-equivalent payments such as bank transfers. It doesn't publish the program for in-person payments. Card network rules and state laws apply. | Every card, debit and credit (dual pricing or cash discount)Source: Durango Merchant Services (opens in a new tab)Every card type except EBT, debit included: all cards carry the same card price. Only for online payments through its gateway. | Not published |
| Finix | YesSource: Finix (opens in a new tab)A credit card surcharge you set up to 3%, on terminals and the virtual terminal; Finix must enable it at least 35 days ahead. Card network rules and state laws apply. | Credit cards only (surcharge)Source: Finix (opens in a new tab) | 3% |
| Heartland | YesSource: Heartland (Global Payments) (opens in a new tab)Heartland's surcharge program charges your customers 3% on credit cards (debit, gift and prepaid cards are excluded), and its FAQ says it also has a cash discount program, without publishing its percentage or terms. With a cash discount, card processing costs your restaurant $0 in our estimate and what your customers pay is shown apart. Heartland lists Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and Oklahoma among the states that prohibit surcharging. Card network rules and state laws apply, and some states limit or ban surcharges. | Every card, debit and credit (dual pricing or cash discount)Source: Heartland (Global Payments) (opens in a new tab)Heartland offers a surcharge (3%, credit cards only) and says it also offers a cash discount, which covers every card. When a vendor offers both, we use the program that covers every card, the same for every vendor. Heartland doesn't publish the cash discount percentage or its terms, so what your customers pay with it shows as not published; the 3% surcharge is shown as the alternative and isn't added to our estimate. | Not published |
| Helcim | YesSource: Helcim (opens in a new tab)Fee Saver is a credit card surcharge. Its terms say that in person it currently works only on the Helcim Smart Terminal (Helcim's help center also lists the newest card reader). Helcim can adjust the customer's fee for some card brand and cross-border costs, and can change, suspend or end Fee Saver at any time, with or without notice. Card network rules and state laws apply. | Credit cards only (surcharge)Source: Helcim (opens in a new tab) | 3% |
| Merchant One | NoSource: Merchant One (opens in a new tab)Merchant One publishes no dual pricing, surcharge or cash discount program on its site; the Program Guide it posts only sets the rules for surcharging with the processor's prior approval. | N/ASource: Merchant One (opens in a new tab)No published program. | No program published |
| North (Payanywhere) | YesSource: North (opens in a new tab)North's Edge program (dual pricing) and Payanywhere's Cash Discounting: your customers see a cash price and a card price. Average ticket and business type restrictions apply, it only works with certain terminals on North's own processing, and North doesn't publish its fees or the percentage your customers pay. Card network rules and state laws apply. | Credit cards only (surcharge)Source: North (opens in a new tab)Cards run as credit pay the card price; PIN debit pays the cash price, so your restaurant pays the card rate on it. Since the share of PIN debit isn't known, our estimate counts all debit at the card rate. | Not published |
| Payment Depot | YesSource: Payment Depot (opens in a new tab)Credit card surcharging; Payment Depot doesn't publish what your customers pay, what debit costs you with it or its fee. Card network rules and state laws apply. | Credit cards only (surcharge)Source: Payment Depot (opens in a new tab)A surcharge only covers credit cards (card network rules). | Not published |
| PaymentCloud | NoSource: PaymentCloud (opens in a new tab)PaymentCloud publishes no dual pricing, surcharge or cash discount program of its own; its blog explains how these programs work and offers a fee review. | N/ASource: PaymentCloud (opens in a new tab)No published program. | No program published |
| PayPal POS | NoSource: PayPal (opens in a new tab)PayPal's POS terms forbid adding a fee for paying by card unless the law allows it, and PayPal doesn't publish a dual pricing, surcharge or cash discount program. | N/ASource: PayPal (opens in a new tab)Doesn't apply: no program. | No program published |
| Payroc | YesSource: Payroc (opens in a new tab)ConsumerChoice is a dual pricing program (one price for every card, a lower cash or ACH price) and RewardPay Choice a surcharge of up to 3% on credit cards (up to 2% in Oklahoma; Payroc says it isn't available in Connecticut, New York, Massachusetts and Maine). With dual pricing, card processing costs your restaurant $0 in our estimate and your customers pay the difference. Card network rules and state laws apply. | Every card, debit and credit (dual pricing or cash discount)Source: Payroc (opens in a new tab)Payroc offers a surcharge (credit cards only) and dual pricing (every card); when a vendor offers both, we use the program that covers every card, the same for every vendor. Payroc doesn't publish the dual pricing percentage, so what your customers pay shows as not published; the RewardPay Choice surcharge (up to 3%) is shown as the alternative and isn't added to our estimate. | Not published |
| Paysafe | YesSource: Paysafe (opens in a new tab)Paysafe's Cash Discount Program adds a service fee to card payments and gives cash customers a discount of the same percentage; Paysafe doesn't publish the percentage. With it, card processing costs your restaurant $0 in our estimate and your customers pay the difference. Card network rules and state laws apply. | Every card, debit and credit (dual pricing or cash discount)Source: Paysafe (opens in a new tab)A cash discount covers every card, debit included. | Not published |
| pmtbox | NoSource: pmtbox (Payment Box Inc.) (opens in a new tab)pmtbox publishes no dual pricing, surcharge or cash discount program; its site doesn't mention one. | N/ASource: pmtbox (Payment Box Inc.) (opens in a new tab)No published program. | No program published |
| Priority Commerce | YesSource: Priority Commerce (opens in a new tab)MX Merchant Advantage supports cash discount, surcharge, convenience fee and service fee programs. Priority doesn't publish the percentage your customers pay. With a cash discount, card processing costs your restaurant $0 in our estimate and your customers pay the difference. Card network rules and state laws apply. | Every card, debit and credit (dual pricing or cash discount)Source: Priority Commerce (opens in a new tab)Priority offers a surcharge (credit cards only) and a cash discount (every card); when a vendor publishes both, we use the program that covers every card, the same for every vendor. | Not published |
| Shift4 | YesSource: Shift4 (opens in a new tab)The Advantage Program offers dual pricing, a supplemental fee or a cash discount (Advantage Program Terms §3). With it, card processing costs your restaurant $0 in our estimate and your customers pay the difference: 4% by default, which you can set lower or up to 5% (Shift4 help center, Advantage Program FAQs). Fees on tips added after the sale are yours. Used as a surcharge, the fee can only go on credit cards and, under Visa's rules, up to 3% and never more than your cost; only dual pricing or a cash discount can cover debit cards. Card network rules and state laws apply, some states limit or ban surcharges, and you must post signs and show the fee on receipts. | Every card, debit and credit (dual pricing or cash discount)Source: Shift4 Help Center (opens in a new tab)The Advantage Program works as dual pricing (cash vs. non-cash price), a supplemental fee applied to every transaction, or a cash discount, so every card payment pays the card price. The same FAQ says PIN debit through the Debit Gateway can't be used with the program, and that if you set a customer rate below the default, you pay the difference. | 4% |
| Shopify Payments | NoSource: Shopify (opens in a new tab)Shopify doesn't publish a dual pricing, surcharge or cash discount program for US merchants (we checked its pricing, POS and Shopify Payments help pages). | N/ASource: Shopify (opens in a new tab)Doesn't apply: no program. | No program published |
| SpotOn Payments | YesSource: SpotOn (opens in a new tab)SpotOn Dual Pricing (a card price and a lower cash price, covering every card type; it needs SpotOn's approval 30 days ahead) and Credit Card Surcharging (credit only, up to 3%, 2% in Colorado and Oklahoma, not in CT, ME or MA). With the program, card processing costs your restaurant $0 in our estimate and your customers pay the difference. SpotOn doesn't say whether its dual pricing covers tips. Card network rules and state laws apply, and some states limit or ban surcharges. | Every card, debit and credit (dual pricing or cash discount)Source: SpotOn Help Center (opens in a new tab)SpotOn also offers a surcharge program, which only covers credit cards. When a vendor publishes both, we use the program that covers every card, the same for every vendor. | Not published |
| Square | YesSource: Square Support Center (opens in a new tab)Credit card surcharging, in open beta in the US: in person only, credit cards only, up to 3% and never above your cost of acceptance, and not available in Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts or Puerto Rico. Square publishes no dual pricing program. In our estimate, card processing on in-person credit card sales costs your restaurant $0 with the surcharge and your customers pay it; debit and online sales keep Square's rate. In practice part of that cost stays with you: Square charges its fee on the whole sale, including tax and tip, tips can't be surcharged, and the 3% cap can fall below Square's fee on small tickets (2.6% + 15¢ is about 3.03% of a $35 ticket). Card network rules and state laws apply. | Credit cards only (surcharge)Source: Square Support Center (opens in a new tab) | Not published |
| Stax | YesSource: Stax (opens in a new tab)CardX by Stax credit card surcharge (3% for your customers, where eligible). With it, consumer debit cards cost you 1.25% + 25¢, but CardX says debit pricing varies by processor platform: on some, commercial debit costs 2.91%, and keyed-in debit on the CardX terminal doesn't get 1.25% (its virtual terminal does). CardX doesn't serve businesses in Connecticut or Massachusetts, and Maine and New York have extra terms. Card network rules and state laws apply. | Credit cards only (surcharge)Source: Stax (opens in a new tab) | 3% |
| Stripe | NoSource: Stripe (opens in a new tab)Stripe's terms allow surcharging only where card network rules and the law permit it, but Stripe doesn't publish a dual pricing, surcharge or cash discount program for US merchants. | N/ASource: Stripe (opens in a new tab)Doesn't apply: no program. | No program published |
| SumUp | NoSource: SumUp (opens in a new tab)SumUp doesn't publish a dual pricing, surcharge or cash discount program for US merchants (we checked its US pricing, POS and help pages). | N/ASource: SumUp (opens in a new tab)Doesn't apply: no program. | No program published |
| Toast Payments | YesSource: Toast (opens in a new tab)Toast publishes two programs: Toast Dual Pricing (card price and a cash price 4% lower by default; for now only for eligible new US customers) and Credit Card Surcharging (credit cards only, up to 3%, not in CT, ME or MA). With the program, card processing costs your restaurant $0 in our estimate and your customers pay the difference. Toast itself says surcharging offsets your costs by adding revenue, not by lowering your fees. Toast's cash discount applies to the subtotal before tax and tip, so the card fee on tax and tips isn't offset. Card network rules and state laws apply, and some states limit or ban surcharges. | Every card, debit and credit (dual pricing or cash discount)Source: Toast Central (opens in a new tab)Toast also offers credit card surcharging, which only covers credit cards. When a vendor publishes both, we use the program that covers every card, the same for every vendor. Toast says you still pay your contract rate on every card sale; the card price your customers pay offsets it. Toast Dual Pricing is for eligible new US customers. | 4% |
| U.S. Bank Payment Solutions (Elavon) | YesSource: Elavon (opens in a new tab)Credit Card Surcharge program: you choose the percentage your customers pay on credit cards; not offered in CT, ME, MA, NY or Puerto Rico. Elavon lists it for Elavon Point of Sale, Converge, Tetra terminals, its gateway, CenPOS and Poynt/Newland, and doesn't say whether accounts opened online at U.S. Bank's flat rate qualify; it says the program lets you partially offset the cost. Card network rules and state laws apply. | Credit cards only (surcharge)Source: Elavon (opens in a new tab)Debit keeps a card rate: Elavon says merchants in the program pay tiered debit pricing it doesn't publish; our cost uses the published rate. | Not published |
| Wells Fargo Merchant Services | NoSource: Wells Fargo (opens in a new tab)Wells Fargo's merchant pages publish no dual pricing, surcharge or cash discount program. | N/ASource: Wells Fargo (opens in a new tab)No program published. | No program published |
| Worldpay | YesSource: Worldpay (Global Payments) (opens in a new tab)Fee Assist is a surcharge program: your customers pay a fee on credit card payments. Worldpay doesn't publish the percentage. With it, card processing costs your restaurant $0 on credit cards in our estimate and your customers pay the difference; debit stays at Worldpay's rate. Card network rules and state laws apply. | Credit cards only (surcharge)Source: Worldpay (Global Payments) (opens in a new tab)A surcharge only covers credit cards under card network rules. | Not published |
| Xplor Pay (formerly Clearent) | YesSource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Its Empower program: cash discount with dual pricing, surcharging, convenience fees and service fees. Its pages say the programs save up to 95% of processing costs (75% to 95%), so they don't offset all of it, and the program's own fee isn't published. Card network rules and state laws apply. | Every card, debit and credit (dual pricing or cash discount)Source: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)The cash discount covers every card, debit and credit. If you choose to surcharge instead, it only covers credit cards and you keep paying the rate on debit. Xplor Pay says the programs save up to 95% of processing costs, not all of it. | Not published |
Card processing cost calculatorHow we scoreCard processing for restaurants, compared