Skip to content
Español

Card processing review

Xplor Pay (formerly Clearent)

Xplor Pay, the new name of Clearent since July 2025: a processor sold directly, through agents and inside partner software, with its own restaurant POS and a cash discount and surcharge program. Rates and fees are by quote; its merchant agreement is public: 3 years, renewing yearly, with a termination fee of $395 by default (your fee schedule can set another amount per location).

By Xplor TechnologiesParent company: Xplor Technologies (private)
Not enough data to score

Not enough verified data yet

We've verified 7 of 12 key facts for this processor. Until we reach 80%, this page shows what we have, with sources, and it isn't a full review.

Our verdict

Its contract terms are public, but its price isn't: ask for a written fee schedule with every rate and fee before signing, and compare the three-year term and renewal with month-to-month options.

What we like

  • Publishes its merchant agreement, with the term, automatic renewal and default termination fee.
  • Next-day funding.
  • Cash discount with dual pricing (covers every card) or surcharging, through its Empower program.
  • Works with third-party terminals and partner software; you don't have to use its POS.

What to watch

  • Rates, monthly fees, PCI program fee and equipment are by quote: you can't compare the cost before talking to sales.
  • Three-year term that renews yearly; leaving early costs the termination fee ($395 unless your fee schedule sets another amount per location), on top of any other damages they may claim.
  • The termination fee also applies if the bank or Xplor Pay ends the agreement for cause, or if your volume stays below what you projected for 90 days in a row.
  • Personal guarantee by the signer, and the bank can open a reserve from your deposits without prior notice and keep it at least 180 days after your last transaction.

How the score breaks down

RTC ScoreNot enough data

Methodology v0.1.0

We could verify less than 60% of what we score, so we don't rank it.

Data completeness51%

We could verify 51% of the scoring data

Strongest points
Standard deposit speed, What leaving in month 12 costs, Price increases during the contract
Weakest point
Published pricing

Score by criterion

  • 12-month cost of the reference restaurantWeight 37%No data
  • Standard deposit speedWeight 11%Strongest8.0 out of 10
  • What leaving in month 12 costsWeight 9%Strongest8.7 out of 10

    $395 to leave in month 12

  • Price increases during the contractWeight 8%Strongest3.0 out of 10
  • Published pricingWeight 7%Weakest2.0 out of 10
  • 24/7 supportWeight 6%No data
  • Contract termWeight 4%2.5 out of 10
  • Support channelsWeight 4%6.0 out of 10
  • No equipment lease you can't cancelWeight 3%No data
  • Works with restaurant POS systemsWeight 3%1.7 out of 10
  • Automatic renewalWeight 2%5.0 out of 10
  • Equipment works with another processorWeight 2%No data
  • Offers dual pricing or a surcharge programWeight 2%10.0 out of 10
  • Works without the vendor's own POSWeight 1%10.0 out of 10

Before you pass the card fee to your customers

This vendor offers a program that passes the card cost to your customers. Card network rules cap credit card surcharges (Visa 3%, Mastercard 4%) and never allow them on debit, and some states ban or limit them.

This is general information, not legal advice. Card network rules and state laws change, and how they apply depends on your business: check with a lawyer and with your processor before adding a surcharge or a cash discount.

See the rules by state

All the data, with sources

Each value links to its source. "Not published" means the vendor doesn't disclose it; "Unconfirmed" means we looked and couldn't confirm it. Data points we have for fewer than four vendors are left out until we can compare them.

Type of processor and pricing
Data pointValue
Type of processorProcessor or its sales partners (acquirer, ISO)Source: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Xplor Pay is the new name of Clearent (since July 2025): a processor that sells directly, through agents and inside partner software.
Pricing modelQuote onlySource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Set in your merchant application and fee schedule; Xplor Pay doesn't publish its rates or fees.
Published pricing (points out of 100)20Source: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Counted (same rubric for every vendor): early termination fee published in its merchant agreement 20; no in-person or online rate, markup, monthly fee or other fees published (0).
Card rates
Data pointValue
In-person rateQuote onlySource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Set in your merchant application and fee schedule; Xplor Pay doesn't publish its rates or fees.
In-person fee per transactionQuote onlySource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Set in your merchant application and fee schedule; Xplor Pay doesn't publish its rates or fees.
Online rateQuote onlySource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Set in your merchant application and fee schedule; Xplor Pay doesn't publish its rates or fees.
Online fee per transactionQuote onlySource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Set in your merchant application and fee schedule; Xplor Pay doesn't publish its rates or fees.
Keyed-in rateQuote onlySource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Set in your merchant application and fee schedule; Xplor Pay doesn't publish its rates or fees.
Keyed-in fee per transactionQuote onlySource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Set in your merchant application and fee schedule; Xplor Pay doesn't publish its rates or fees.
American Express pricingQuote onlySource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Set in your merchant application and fee schedule; Xplor Pay doesn't publish its rates or fees.
American Express rateQuote onlySource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Set in your merchant application and fee schedule; Xplor Pay doesn't publish its rates or fees.
Rates by monthly volumeQuote onlySource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Set in your merchant application and fee schedule; Xplor Pay doesn't publish its rates or fees.
Monthly and other fees
Data pointValue
Monthly account or plan feeQuote onlySource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Set in your merchant application and fee schedule; Xplor Pay doesn't publish its rates or fees.
Annual fee per accountQuote onlySource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Set in your merchant application and fee schedule; Xplor Pay doesn't publish its rates or fees.
Annual fees per device or locationQuote onlySource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Set in your merchant application and fee schedule; Xplor Pay doesn't publish its rates or fees.
PCI compliance fee (yearly)Not publishedSource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Every merchant is enrolled in its DataGuardian PCI program (with a $150,000 data breach policy); the program's fee isn't published.
PCI non-compliance fee (monthly)Not publishedSource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)There is a monthly PCI non-compliance fee if you don't finish the questionnaire and required scans by the deadline; the amount isn't published.
Statement feeQuote onlySource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Set in your merchant application and fee schedule; Xplor Pay doesn't publish its rates or fees.
Monthly minimumQuote onlySource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Set in your merchant application and fee schedule; Xplor Pay doesn't publish its rates or fees.
Fee per batchQuote onlySource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Set in your merchant application and fee schedule; Xplor Pay doesn't publish its rates or fees.
Chargeback feeQuote onlySource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Set in your merchant application and fee schedule; Xplor Pay doesn't publish its rates or fees.
Other feesLate fee of 1.5% a month on unpaid amounts. The termination fee also applies if, for 90 days in a row, you don't process the volume and average ticket you projected in your application (unless you're registered as seasonal).Source: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)
Equipment
Data pointValue
How you get the equipmentUse compatible equipment you haveSource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)You can use third-party terminals; Xplor Pay can also supply equipment at your request, on terms it doesn't publish.
Price of a countertop terminalQuote onlySource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Not published.
Equipment lease you can't cancelUnconfirmedSource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Its merchant agreement has no equipment lease; any lease would be a separate agreement we haven't seen.
Equipment lease termUnconfirmedSource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Its merchant agreement has no equipment lease; any lease would be a separate agreement we haven't seen.
Equipment at $0 upfront: what it commits you toUnconfirmedSource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)We found no $0-upfront equipment offer.
Equipment only works with this processorUnconfirmedSource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Not stated for the equipment it supplies.
Getting your money
Data pointValue
Standard deposit speedNext business daySource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Next-day funding (no cutoff time published). You choose whether fees come out of each daily deposit or at month end.
Instant payout feeUnconfirmedSource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)We found no instant payout option.
Holds and reservesThe bank can open a reserve account at any time and fund it from your deposits or accounts without prior notice. On reasonable grounds (unusual activity, chargebacks, changes in volume, ticket or keyed sales) it can divert your deposits to the reserve or pause processing, with notice. After the agreement ends, it can keep the reserve for at least 180 days after your last transaction.Source: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)
Contract and exit
Data pointValue
Contract term36 monthsSource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Three years. The same term and default termination fee appear in its three published merchant agreements (Clearent, Central Bank and Jefferson Bank).
Automatic renewal12 monthsSource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Renews automatically for 1-year periods.
Notice to avoid renewal45 daysSource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)To leave at the end of the term or a renewal without the fee, give 45 days' written notice.
Notice to cancel45 daysSource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)45 days' written notice; leaving before the end of the term costs the termination fee.
Early termination feeTermination fee: the amount in your fee schedule per location (or the maximum allowed by law), or $395 if your fee schedule lists none, on top of any other damages the bank and Xplor Pay may claim. No fee if you leave at the end of the term or a renewal with 45 days' written notice. The same fee is due if the bank or Xplor Pay ends the agreement for cause (including if they decide your processing activity could result in a loss) or because your settlement account closed, and if, for 90 days in a row, you don't process the volume and average ticket you projected in your application (unless you're registered as seasonal).Source: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)
How the early termination fee is calculatedA fixed amountSource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)The amount in your fee schedule per location ("or the maximum amount allowed by law"), or $395 if your fee schedule lists none. It's due on top of any other damages the bank and Xplor Pay may claim, and also when they end the agreement for cause (for example, if they decide your processing activity could result in a loss) or because your settlement account closed. $395 is a default, not a cap.
Liquidated damages clauseNoSource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)A fixed termination fee that the agreement calls a reasonable computation of harm, not a charge for the months left; it's due on top of any other damages they may claim.
Price increases during the contractWith noticeSource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)15 days' notice. If an amendment raises your fees (other than pass-through costs such as interchange), you can end the agreement before it takes effect, but that clause doesn't waive the termination fee, and the agreement says the fee is due on any termination unless it explicitly says otherwise.
Right to raise pricesXplor Pay and the bank can amend the agreement with 15 days' notice (less when the law, card rules or your finances or volumes require it). If an amendment raises your fees (other than pass-through costs such as interchange), you can end the agreement before it takes effect; that clause doesn't waive the termination fee.Source: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)
Personal guarantee by the signerYesSource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Whoever signs as guarantor on the application is bound like the business, jointly and severally. The clause is cut off mid-sentence in the published agreements; its full scope is in the application, which isn't public.
Dual pricing and surcharges
Data pointValue
Dual pricing or surcharge programYesSource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Its Empower program: cash discount with dual pricing, surcharging, convenience fees and service fees. Its pages say the programs save up to 95% of processing costs (75% to 95%), so they don't offset all of it, and the program's own fee isn't published. Card network rules and state laws apply.
Cards the program coversEvery card, debit and credit (dual pricing or cash discount)Source: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)The cash discount covers every card, debit and credit. If you choose to surcharge instead, it only covers credit cards and you keep paying the rate on debit. Xplor Pay says the programs save up to 95% of processing costs, not all of it.
Monthly fee for the programNot publishedSource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Not published. You must renew the program's compliance attestation periodically or a non-recertification fee applies.
Your POS and your business
Data pointValue
Works with these restaurant POSOthersSource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Its own Xplor Pay POS and the partner software it's built into; none of the restaurant POS on our list documents it.
Requires the vendor's own POSNoSource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)It sells its own POS but also processes for third-party terminals and partner software.
Monthly volume it's built forUnconfirmedSource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)No minimum volume published.
Accepts high-risk businessesUnconfirmedSource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Not stated on its site.
Routes debit to the lowest-cost networkUnconfirmedSource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Not stated on its site.
Support
Data pointValue
24/7 support for merchantsUnconfirmedSource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)It says support is available 7 days a week but doesn't publish hours or say 24/7; its PCI help desk works 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. ET, Monday to Friday.
Support channelsPhone, Email or formSource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Phone, email and support requests through its merchant portal.
Language
Data pointValue
Support in SpanishUnconfirmedSource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Xplor Pay doesn't say it offers support in Spanish.
Merchant dashboard in SpanishUnconfirmedSource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Not stated.
Contract or terms in SpanishNoSource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Its merchant agreements and card acceptance guide are published in English only.
US website in SpanishNoSource: Xplor Pay (Clearent, LLC) (opens in a new tab)Its US site is in English only; we found no Spanish version.

More about Xplor Pay (formerly Clearent)

How we score